News | 7/16/2012 4:15:49 PM |

BUFFALO, NY (July 16, 2012) --- The National Lacrosse League today released the six nominees for the NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2012, three of which represent the Buffalo Bandits. For the first time in NLL history, a team is among the nominees, as the 1993 Buffalo Bandits have been nominated for induction. The other two former Bandits nominated are goaltender Steve Dietrich and forward Chris Driscoll.
The 1993 Bandits were the first and only team in league history to go through the regular season and playoffs undefeated. The Bandits went 8-0 in the regular season, outscoring their opponents 143-108. The team followed this feat up by going 2-0 in the playoffs, including a 13-12 championship game win over a Philadelphia Wings team that entered the game with a record of 8-1 in the regular season and playoffs. 
The 1993 team’s roster and staff included five future NLL Hall of Famers and individuals who continue to have an impact on the NLL to this day. The team was coached by the late Les Bartley, who won his second of seven championships as a head coach that season. Bartley was inducted posthumously into the NLL Hall of Fame as part of the Hall’s inaugural Class of 2006.
Three of the 1993 Bandits team’s players are now in the Hall of Fame: Current Bandits Head Coach Darris Kilgour, Assistant Coach Rich Kilgour and Jim Veltman. John Tavares, the league’s all-time leading scorer, was on the 1993 Bandits roster and was named MVP of the Championship Game. Five of the league’s nine current head coaches were part of the 1993 Bandits team. Toronto’s Troy Cordingley, Colorado’s Bob Hamley, Edmonton’s Derek Keenan and Darris Kilgour played on the team. Johnny Mouradian, the team’s general manager, was inducted into the NLL Hall of Fame in 2008.
Dietrich played 18 seasons in the league, including six with the Bandits from 2002 to 2007. He is the team’s all-time leader with 47 career wins. In 2006, Dietrich was named league MVP after having one of the best statistical seasons for a goaltender in league history, in which he posted a save percentage of .808 and a goals against average of 9.97 while leading Buffalo to the championship game. In his 18-season career, Dietrich compiled a record of 60-47 with Baltimore, Detroit, Rochester, Buffalo, Calgary, Edmonton and Toronto.
Driscoll played in 234 regular season games over a 19-year career, including parts of five seasons with Buffalo from 1999 to 2002 and 2010. As a Bandit, Driscoll recorded 134 points (49+85) and only two penalty minutes in 37 games.

In his career, Driscoll recorded 618 points (240+378) and played in the championship game four times, winning three championships. He won league’s Sportsmanship Award in 2003, and was Second-Team All-Pro in 1996.

VS.  Calgary Roughnecks
 January 09, 2016 - 07:30 PM 1 2 3 4 F
 Calgary Roughnecks 0 0 0 0 0
 Buffalo Bandits 0 0 0 0 0